MEDIA: Film

MY RATING: 7.5/10

The Starship Avalon has left Earth carrying over 5,000 passengers on board, it’s bound for the distant colony world Homestead 11 and will take 120 years to get there, so for the duration of the voyage the passengers and crew are in deep sleep in hibernation pods. One of the Passengers, Jim, wakes up to find that he has been woken 90 years to early and he faces the prospect of a lifetime alone on a starship with only the android bartender Arthur to keep him company. By accident he stumbles across a woman called Aurora and as he learns more about her, the more fascinated he becomes and he begins toying with the possibility of waking her up so that he wouldn’t be alone. Despite knowing that this is something that he shouldn’t do, he ends up waking her and a bond begins to grow between them even though he is still trying to work up the courage to admit what he has done. As Jim and Aurora come to terms with being woken too early, they slowly begin to realise that Avalon is falling apart and that despite initial reluctance, they have to learn to work as a team in order to save the sleeping passengers and crew.

I had been debating on and off whether or not to go and see this film, given all the flak that it has received but since I had a movie voucher I decided to use that and that way if I didn’t like the film I wouldn’t have spent any money on it. Needless to say, I’m not sure if I saw the same movie that everyone else was watching because I actually ended up enjoying this.

Sure, it’s not the best sci-fi movie ever but I had a lot of fun with this, I liked the setting taking place predominately on the space ship and I thought Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence worked well together. I can understand why people would have had an issue with this film but in all honesty I think it was blown out of proportion. Yes what Chris Pratt’s character did was ethically wrong but from the way the reviews talked about it, it was like he woke up straight up and decided to wake up some random girl without thinking about it. I wasn’t actually expecting that scene to be prolonged as he weighed up the consequences of his actions.

Overall if you’re after a different kind of sci-fi film I would suggest checking this out but I would probably recommend checking this out as a rental rather than seeing it at the cinema.

Director: Morten Tyldum

Starring: Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Sheen, Laurence Fishburne, Andy Garcia

