MEDIA: Book

MY RATING: 5/5

 

The Fellowship of the Ring is the first part of the Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien. In this first book Frodo receives a mysterious gift from his adopted father Bilbo, a powerful ring that he found on one of his many adventures. He soon learns from his friend Gandalf that the ring is dark magic and that it needs to be destroyed before its master Sauron can be reunited with it and use its power to destroy all of Middle Earth. Frodo sets off on a reluctant quest with his friends Sam, Merry and Pippin and the four of them leave the comforts of their home in the Shire to deliver the ring to Rivendell. Once there they learn that their journey is not quite over and Frodo finds himself volunteering to take the ring to Mordor and throw it into Mount Doom, the only way that can ensure of its destruction.

I first tried to read The Fellowship of the Ring back when the movie first came out. I picked up a bind up edition of all three books (at the time it was the only way I could get Fellowship) and I do believe I started to read Fellowship but for some reason I never finished it. Cue over fifteen years later and I’ve finally sat down and read Fellowship of the Ring.

I’ve seen both the LoTR trilogy and the Hobbit trilogy several times and I’m only now just making my way through the books. In the past couple of years I’ve read both the Hobbit and the Silmarillion and was eager to jump on with the main LoTR series and it did not disappoint. I can’t believe I’ve waited fifteen years to finally read and immerse myself in the wonder that is the Fellowship of the Ring.

The LoTR trilogy as a whole is in my top 5 favourite movies of all time but reading the original source material and having the film in the back of my mind gave me an appreciation for the Fellowship novel, just with the back story and history and learning about the characters and seeing their progression along the journey, made me love this book even more. I don’t know if I would say I prefer the novel or the movie to Fellowship of the Ring, I do love both and I’m definitely excited to read the next two books in the trilogy to see what I think.

Overall I would definitely recommend reading the Fellowship of the Ring, with the benefit of hindsight I would probably recommend reading the book first before seeing the movie but I do definitely recommend both.

