2016 was a great reading year for me and I actually had a bit of trouble narrowing down my list to a top 16. I ended up reaching 100 books on my goodreads challenge (which was my original goal at the start of the year but I changed it to 85 in October because I hit a bit of a reading slump), so I’m happy with what I read and I’m looking forward to my reading adventures in 2017!

 

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This book completely destroyed me when I read it and I’m definitely eagerly waiting for the third book, A Court of Wings and Ruin next year. I loved meeting the Night Court and seeing Feyre and Rhysand’s relationship evolve and the ending gave me so many feels. I need the next book!

  1. Gemina by Amie Kaufmann and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was one of my favourite reads of 2015 and I was so excited to read Gemina. Gemina did not disappoint, in fact I think I enjoyed it a little bit more than illuminae. I missed Ezra and Kady but I definitely loved seeing Hannah and Nick’s relationship evolve over the course of the novel and I can’t wait to see how the trilogy wraps up next year.

  1. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

I’ve been getting into the Poirot books lately and I’ve been trying to read the series in chronological order. I went into the Murder of Roger Ackroyd without knowing what to expect and I can say that the ending definitely shocked me. It’s a book that I don’t hear people talking about much when in comparison to Christie’s other works but I would definitely recommend this one.

  1. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

What a beautiful story this was and it definitely had a unique narration, told from the perspective of death. I’d been wanting to read this one for a while because so many people had this as one of their favourite books and I can see why, it’s now one of my favourites.

  1. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

I seriously loved this book, I’d been hearing really good things about this one and I’m always up for reading more sci-fi, so I’m really glad that I ended up reading this. This was such a fun read – it was like I was reading a mix between Firefly and Star Wars, I loved the world building and the different alien species that we were introduced to, I loved the characters and how diverse they were – I just loved how it was about character interactions and abut working together despite people’s differences and also about respecting people’s cultures and beliefs.

  1. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

After hearing nothing but amazing things about Brandon Sanderson’s works, I finally read the first book in the Mistborn trilogy and it did not disappoint. I loved everything about this first novel and I’m hoping to finish off this trilogy in 2017 and hopefully read more Brandon Sanderson’s other novels.

  1. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I finished Wolf by Wolf in September and absolutely loved it. I found it so thrilling and I always do enjoy reading stories that are set in alternate realities. I definitely enjoyed the motorcycle race aspect of this novel, I have read the sequel but I didn’t find it as good as this one.

  1. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

In the last year or so I’d been hearing really good things about this book and when I saw that my library had a copy earlier in the year, I thought I would take the opportunity to read it and it did not disappoint. I’ve been trying to get into reading more historical fiction lately and I found this one to be such a fascinating read.

  1. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Again I know this book has gotten very mixed reviews but I personally loved it. I love the concept of travelling through the multi-verse and visiting parallel dimensions and so this book was definitely something that I very much enjoyed and I can’t wait to finish this trilogy.

  1. World War Z by Max Brooks

I did not expect to love this one as much as I did. I had already seen the movie version with Brad Pitt and I was curious to check out the book, it’s very different to the movie and overall I would now say that the book is better than the movie. I loved the interview style format and the different stories that were told from around the world.

  1. The Sandman Prelude and Nocturnes and The Sandman Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman

The first lot of graphic novels on this list and it’s probably cheating to include them as one on this list but I wanted to include these two in here because I loved these first two volumes of the Sandman series. This series is dark and twisted and I’m definitely excited to read the rest of the volumes, I’m really glad that I finally checked out these first two volumes after hearing nothing but amazing things about this series.

  1. You’re Never Weird on the Internet by Felicia Day

I’d been hearing really good things about Felicia Day’s autobiography and have been curious to check it out for a while. This definitely didn’t disappoint, it had a lot of humourous moments and I loved reading about stories from her childhood and her career. If you’re a fan of Felicia Day I would definitely recommend checking this out.

  1. Princess Leia by Mark Waid and Terry Dodson

It feels quite bittersweet to have this graphic novel on here given Carrie Fisher’s passing but I loved this graphic novel. It was the first Star Wars graphic novel that I read and I had so much fun with this story, taking place just after the events of A New Hope and showing what happened to Princess Leia as she struggled with the loss of her home planet and wanting to help the rebellion but no one was willing to let her take on dangerous tasks. I would definitely recommend checking out this graphic novel.

  1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This has been a book that I’ve been meaning to check out since I first started watching booktube and it did not disappoint. This just made me so happy and I’m definitely glad that I’ve read it now and I’ll be checking out the rest of the series.

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve wanted to read Fangirl for a while since I’ve been hearing nothing but amazing things about this book and it did not disappoint. I thought this was a really cute contemporary and I loved all the various fandom references, I definitely identified with Cath as a main character and enjoyed seeing her progression as she began to learn who she was outside of her twin and her life as a fangirl. I did like the bouts of Simon Snow that we got in this book but sadly I was not the biggest fan of Carry On.

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany

This is quite possibly a very controversial choice to have on this list but I don’t care, I personally loved this. I knew going in that it was written in a play format and so that part didn’t bother me, I just had such a fun time revisiting these characters and  I love Scorpious Malfoy. I’d love to see this performed on stage one day!

