Since we don’t have a lot left of 2016 I thought I would take a look at some of next year’s releases that I’m most looking forward to. Of course, there are more than 17 movies I’m excited for but these are the ones that made the list 🙂

  1. Star Wars Episode V111

It’s Star Wars, do I really need an explanation?

  1. Power Rangers

I’m a 90s child and I absolutely loved Power Rangers growing up (I still do love Power Rangers even to this day, so much so that I went to Sydney Supanova just for the chance to have a photo taken with Jason David Frank).  Of course I’m going to be all over this movie, I know a lot of people are complaining about production concepts and the trailer, but personally I’m really looking forward to this movie.

  1. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

The first Guardians of the Galaxy was my favourite movie of 2014 so naturally I’m definitely excited about the sequel. I can’t wait for more Baby Groot! 🙂

  1. Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast is my second favourite Disney movie behind the Lion King so I’m definitely excited for the live action version. I’ve been really impressed by the recent live action Disney movies of The Jungle Book and Cinderella, so I have high hopes for this one. I’m also really excited to see Emma Watson play Belle.

  1. Lego Batman

I loved the Lego Movie and so I’m definitely excited about a spinoff Lego Batman, who was one of my favourite characters in the movie.

  1. Wonder Woman

Even though I was one of the few people who did enjoy Batman v Superman, I will agree that Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman was one of the best parts of the movie so of course I’m excited for her feature film 🙂

  1. Despicable Me 3

I actually didn’t realise that this was coming out in 2017 until I happened upon the trailer for it and watched it and well now it’s in my top ten most anticipated films of next year. I love the Despicable Me films, so I’ll definitely be making sure to check this one out.

  1. Dunkirk

I would have to say that Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors, I think I’ve loved or really enjoyed every movie of his that I’ve seen so I’m definitely looking forward to checking out his new film and I’m interested in seeing how he will direct a WW11 drama.

  1. Thor: Ragnarok

I know a lot of people have mixed feelings regarding the Thor movies but I’ve always enjoyed them, the first Thor film was the first MCU film that I saw in the cinema back in 2011 and I haven’t missed one since so I have a bit of a soft spot for the Thor films. I’m especially curious to check this one out because of the cast, especially Cate Blanchett and Karl Urban.

  1. Logan

Initially I wasn’t that interested in the third Wolverine film, I did enjoy the Wolverine and I’m probably one of the few who actually doesn’t mind X-Men: Origins but for some reason I wasn’t anticipating this one nearly as much. Then I saw the trailer and the more that I think about it, the more I realise that I am actually looking forward to this film. Also, it’s Hugh Jackman’s last outing as Wolverine so I’m curious to see how this trilogy of sorts finishes.

  1. Justice League

Again, I seem to be one of the only few people on the planet who actually really enjoyed both Batman v Superman and Suicide Squad. Of course I’m excited to see how a live action Justice League will fair.

  1. Valerian and the city of a thousand planets

The Fifth Element is one of my favourite science fiction movies and one of my favourite movies in general and that’s one of the main reasons I’m looking forward to this film. I’m intrigued by this film because a) it’s a Luc Besson movie b) I love the title of this film c) It seems like a movie that’s right up my ally, so of course I’m going to be all over this film.

  1. The Circle

The main reason that I want to see this movie is because of the cast. I mean you have Emma Watson, Karen Gillan and John Boyega in the same movie I’m totally going to be there. I also liked the trailer and thought the concept of this film seems intriguing, I know that it’s based on a book which I haven’t read but maybe someday I will.

  1. Spiderman: Homecoming

I loved Tom Holland’s portrayal of Spiderman in CA: Civil War so I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what an MCU Spiderman film is like. I’ve enjoyed all the other Spiderman films (yes even the Amazing Spiderman ones), so I think I’ll like this one.

  1. The Dark Tower

I’ve read the first two books in the Dark Tower series by Stephen King and I have liked what I’ve read so far and that I’m curious to see how a film adaptation would work.

  1. Alien: Covenant

I haven’t really been following any news about the Prometheus sequel but I did enjoy the first film when I saw it back in 2012 so I’m curious to see how they would handle a sequel.

  1. Transformers the Last Knight

I actually like the Transformers films, I know they’re not the greatest movies ever but I think they’re just fun popcorn flicks and that’s why I’m looking forward to the fifth instalment of this franchise. As I watched the trailer for it the other day, I realised that I’m going to have to rewatch the fourth one because I can barely remember anything about it, I remember liking it when I watched it though.

