MEDIA: Film

MY RATING: 9/10

Rogue One tells the story of how the Rebel Alliance came into possession of the stolen plans for the Death Star in A New Hope. Reluctant hero Jyn Erso finds herself up against the might of the Empire when the Rebels free her from being sent to a prison camp, hoping to use her family connection to the Empire to find out about secret plans from an Imperial defector. She returns to her mentor Saw, the man who raised her to seek his help and receives a message from her father. His message gives her the strength to do the seemingly impossible, fight back against the Empire and give the rebellion hope.

I was not as hyped for Rogue One as I was for the Force Awakens and I think that played into my overall rating of the movie. Don’t get me wrong I still loved Rogue One, it’s still one of my favourite movies of 2016 thus far (behind Civil War and Deadpool) but there was something about this film that took me a while to connect to the story. I think it was from the opening credits, which had a notable lack of crawl and theme music, since all the other Star Wars movies has this famous opening title sequence I was expecting the same – I suppose since this is a standalone and we already know the basic premise, the battle to retrieve the Death Star plans, having this exposition would have been rather redundant but still I definitely missed the opening sequence. The other factor that I wasn’t a big fan of was the lack of Forest Whitaker’s character Saw, who I thought could have really added something to the movie with his character but he barely had ten-fifteen minutes of screen time.

I think I’m definitely going to give this a second watch, hopefully in a couple of weeks and now that I know what to expect I’ll be more prepared and will be able to enjoy myself more. It was definitely an interesting Star Wars film and as a standalone, it does fit in rather well with the chronology, (despite the current debate about a certain pair of droids who make a brief appearance) and I’m looking forward to adding it to my annual Star Wars marathon. Speaking of droids, one of my new favourite characters is the droid K-2S0 …he definitely provided some light heartedness in a film that can get quite bleak at times.

To sum up, Rogue One does have its flaws but I think the positives do outweigh the negatives and I would still recommend giving this film a watch.

Director: Gareth Edwards

Starring: Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Mads Mikkelson, Alan Tudyk, Riz Ahmed, Jiang Weng, Forest Whitaker

