MEDIA: Book

MY RATING: 3/5

Rebecca tells the story of a young woman in her early twenties, who falls in love with a wealthy older man while she is working as a companion in Monte Carlo. She becomes captivated by this mysterious man, Maxim de Winter, who owns a well known property called Manderely and is suffering from the loss of his first wife Rebecca. As Maxim begins to open up to her, it isn’t long before he proposes to her and she becomes the second Mrs. de Winter and takes her to live in Manderely. Her illusions of being in love and in a happy marriage quickly change as the months go on and she becomes haunted by the constant presence of Rebecca, afraid that she will never live up to the woman who bore the name Mrs. de Winter first; however as she begins to learn more about Maxim’s angelic first wife, she soon begins to find that not everything is as it seems and she learns a terrible secret that could destroy them all.

I’m going to be perfectly honest here and say that I am not the biggest fan of this book. I know that this is considered to be a well loved classic but I did not get the love for it. I thought it was well written but I didn’t care about the plot or the characters and I was struggling for the first 100 pages to get through it that I nearly considered DNF’ing this book, which is something I never do because I always have to finish a book regardless of how bad it is which tells you something of what I thought of those 100 pages.

I will say that the second half of the book was better than the first, when we get to the mystery part of the novel and we learn about Maxim’s wife Rebecca and the circumstances surrounding her death. I did think there was more to her death than we were first told about so that revelation wasn’t completely a surprise for me and the story did take a number of twists but since I was finding it hard to connect to these characters I really didn’t care how the revelations impacted them. I know this book was set in a different era but I didn’t like the character of the second Mrs. de Winter, all she cared about was how much everyone loved Rebecca and that it should be about her now, she really wasn’t likeable and especially her reaction to the truth, I get that she wouldn’t have had much choice considering her position but I thought we would get some kind of reaction other than it being about herself.

I was so glad this book was a library book so I can say I’ve read it now and return it, at the least it’s another book I’ve read out of the 1001 books to read before you die, hopefully the next classic I read will be better.

