MEDIA: Book

RATING: 5/5

Empire of Storms is the penultimate fifth book in the six part popular young adult series Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. In this book Aelin continues on her quest to reclaim her rightful throne in Terrasen but finds her path blocked by those who think her past as an assassin doesn’t make her worthy to be Queen. To prove her worth, she needs to find allies and build an army so that she can take on Erawan by finding the last two wyrdkeys that she needs to be able to permanently destroy him and the Valg who have infiltrated their world. As she continues down her path,  she begins to fully realise the plan that her ancestors set in motion for her to take on this very task and she must be willing to put herself on the line so that those whom she loves can secure a brighter future in her homeland.

I know this book has received mixed reviews but I was cautiously optimistic since I have loved every one of the previous Throne of Glass series. Going into this story I was spoiled for the notable absence of Chaol, which I think is one of the reasons a lot of people weren’t too keen on this story but to be honest Chaol really annoyed me in Queen of Shadows so I didn’t miss him here. I can safely say that despite the somewhat lukewarm reception to this book, I absolutely loved it. It’s not my favourite of the series, which I think at this point that honour goes to Heir of Fire but the book kept me engaged and I wanted to keep finding out how the story unravelled and how we got to the point in the opening prologue.

There was plenty of drama, intrigue, romance, action and adventure and all the characters got their moment to shine. I’m going to be sad once the sixth book is out and this series is over, I’ve binge read this series over the course of the past year or so and it is now one of my favourite series next to Harry Potter. If you haven’t read the Throne of Glass series I highly recommend it, for me the hype is well deserved.

 

